BRUNCH: Crock Pot French Toast Revisited

October 13, 2012 Ella
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’m reposting this recipe since its the most searched, and commented post to date. I’ve updated the instructions and tried to address some questions! The recipe I originally posted is 1/2 of the actual recipe I was working from, since I have a small crock pot about 4 quarts.  If you have a bigger crock pot use whole the recipe — 1 whole loaf of bread, 1 dozen eggs 2 cups of milk, 2 tsp cinnamon, 2 tsp vanilla extract, 2tbsp brown sugar.

Crock Pot French Toast:

My aunt gave me this recipe after raving here and there about bring her crock pot full of fluffly ready to serve french toast at work.  She brings it in a couple times a year a round holiday season and serves it to her office.  Its soooo easy to make and its wonderful to wake up on a weekend morning to the smell of ready to dive into French toast– set your coffee maker the night before and you won’t have to lift a finger before breakfast.

I made half of what her recipe calls for as my crockpot is a bit more on the petite side.

Ingredients:

1/2 loaf of bread.

I don’t recommend wheat bread generally though honey wheat is pretty good as french toast.  Cinnamon Raisin Swirl is to die for, or a challah bread works too. A loaf of day old French or Italian is also best as french toast. You can use the pieces whole, but I choose to break the pieces in half to fit into the crock pot better.

Use cooking spray to  grease you crock pot!!! or you will likely have some stickiness to clean later.bSome folks like the slow cooker plastic liners. I’m not a fan personally but thats up to you.

Combine:

6 eggs, 1 c milk, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tbsp light brown sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla.

Dunk each piece of bread into the egg mixture and place inside the greased crockpot. Pour remaining egg mixture over the top of the bread.  Set crockpot to lowest cooking setting. “Warm” is not a cooking setting, so set your crock pot to LOW.  Place cover ontop. Do not over fill your crockpot. Cook for 6- 8 hours. Mine cooked in 7.

In the morning you will find a fluffly, bread pudding-souffle like breakfast.  You will see cooked egg on the edges of the bread slices. Carefully remove the lid about 15 minutes before its done and it will brown and toast.  Serve with warm syrup!!  Serves 4-6 depending on how hungry your guests are.

If yours burned I can’t offer alot of consolation. I can say mine came out great or obviously I wouldn’t have posted. Knowing you crockpot is important, just like knowing your stove or microwave. Read the manufactures instructions. Newer crockpots may not take as long to cook as older crockpots from what I’ve read on the interwebs. I can say that my crockpot is 2 years old and still cooked for 6+ hours after all it is a slow cooker.  Try it yourself and leave your tips for great crockpot french toast.

Entry Filed under: Brunch

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Terri Lynn  |  December 21, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    It is not yet ready, but my house sure smells good. Three hours to go and if it tastes as good as it smells… YUM!

  • 2. Celebrating 4 Years: croc&hellip  |  December 24, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    [...] to make some French Toast…in the crock pot!   Yes.  I said that.  I got the recipe here.  It worked out [...]

  • 3. Crockpot French Toast and&hellip  |  January 1, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    [...] Adapted from The Cake Eccentric’s Blog [...]

  • 4. Brunch: Crock Pot French &hellip  |  February 19, 2013 at 11:21 am

    [...] HEY!!!! THIS POST IS 2+ Years old— I updated it recently to help answer the questions and comments and traffic this post has received  The updated version is HERE. [...]

  • 5. LeAnn  |  February 26, 2013 at 11:03 pm

    We LOVE French toast at our house we call it eggie bread. The only tip I have learned is to sprinkle the cinnamon on the bread. I found that when I didn’t do that it would float on top of the egg mixture and all get stuck to the first few pieces. After I tried sprinkling on the bread the first piece was as cinnamonie ;O) as the last!

    • 6. Sceven  |  December 17, 2013 at 2:11 pm

      If you mix the cinnamon into about 2 tsp of vanilla then mix it into the batter it works perfectly. I also use Nutmeg and Allspice.

  • 7. Natalia  |  March 14, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    I was reallly excited about this recipe and used French bread as the bread base. After 3 hours it was completely burnt and even when I tried to eat it, it was really bland :(

  • 8. DELICIOUS – Easter &hellip  |  March 28, 2013 at 10:34 am

    [...] Image and Recipe via The Cake Eccentric [...]

  • 9. Kristen  |  March 31, 2013 at 6:06 am

    Got up at 5:30 am to check it (7 hours). House smelled amazing, but the French Toast was burnt beyond repair in my rival slow cooker. Time to scramble for a new Easter Brunch. :(

  • 10. Nicki  |  May 6, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    Good but…
    Based on other commenters, I decided this needed to be watched carefully. Here is my (rather lengthy detailed) report. I used my brand new 4 qt. Rival crockpot.

    Wanted a late brunch so prepared it the night before and set a timer for it to start cooking at 7 AM. At 11 AM, it looked lovely — puffy and golden. At noon, however (5 hours on LOW), it was clear that the edges were starting to burn so I stopped it. There was also a fair amount of condensation on the lid.

    It deflates quickly when you take the lid off so you need to have everything else (bacon, syrup, fruit, etc.) ready. It tasted fine — not over the top amazing but good. If I do it again, I will set it for 4 hours and place either a clean dish towel or several layers of paper towel to absorb the condensation.

  • 11. Anton Gully  |  May 17, 2013 at 9:38 am

    Sundry health and safety regulations mean that modern slow cookers cook a lot hotter than the older ones. If you bought one in the last few years but it still cooks at a low heat it may be old stock or come into the country via the grey market. Count yourself lucky. I have an old one and a new one and find the new one just about unusable for “slow” cooking even at the lowest setting.

  • 12. 60 Best Crock Pot Recipes&hellip  |  June 30, 2013 at 12:00 am

    […] 7. Overnight Crock Pot French Toast […]

  • 13. Jill McGoo  |  August 16, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    I used a 7 qt pot on Warm. It’s an oval one. Every breakfast recipe I use burns unless I use Warm not Low. I cooked from 11:35-9. Was a little to wet for my taste but the family likes.

  • 14. Camber  |  August 28, 2013 at 9:56 am

    Started this recipe last night. Epic fail!! I was so disappointed. I put it on my lowest setting of 10 hours knowing my crock pot and after 6 hours of cooking, it was a solid mass of burnt bread. The house smelt good, but I could tell when I woke up it was burnt. Not sure how to fix it, not sure if I really want to try again.

  • 15. Danni  |  September 1, 2013 at 10:08 pm

    I’ve made this recipe at least a half-dozen times. I have a monster of a crock pot, and the first few times I made it, the edges were always super-burned, even on low and cooking for 6 hours. I was making the originally posted (1/2 size) recipe, and I think my large crockpot, though old, was just too hot. That being said, I loved the way the house smelled and the inside was still yummy. So I tried cooking it in a baking dish in my warming oven, which has a crockpot setting. If you don’t have one, maybe cooking on the lowest setting in your oven would work? I’m not sure, but it turned out AMAZING when I cooked it this way. If yours is burning, maybe try making a larger batch…to be fair, this is not the first recipe my crockpot has fried. We’ve used many breads, including cinnamon swirl bread (with and without raisins) and challah. By far, the challah has turned out the best, I imagine due to the high egg content it contains. Don’t give up if you’ve been “burned” by this recipe before…once you figure out your cooking device and its quirks, the results are absolutely worth it. :)

  • 16. Tabby  |  September 5, 2013 at 6:15 am

    To those who had burned french toast, try cutting the cooking time in half. A good time to try these recipes is when you are going to be around to keep checking it. Sorry it didn’t work out the first time, but TRY AGAIN! Everyone loves breakfast for dinner!

  • 17. Victoria  |  September 8, 2013 at 10:34 am

    I LOVED the way it looked and smelled for the first three hours or so but then when I checked it at six hours it was completely burnt around the edges and soggy on the inside…. A real waste of a lot of ingredients….

  • 18. Heather  |  September 29, 2013 at 3:51 am

    So far, so good. It’s in the crock pot right now and crossing my fingers when we get up it’ll look as good as yours!

  • 19. Becki  |  November 7, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    I decided to make this for a teacher’s breakfast at the school during conferences. I made 2 crock pots full. One crock pot is only a few years old and the other was ancient. Both set to low at 11:30 pm. At 6:30 am, the newer crock pot was way overdone (especially around the edges). The old crock pot full of french toast was perfect and received many compliments. I used almost a whole loaf of Texas Toast in each crock.

  • 20. Anna Braun  |  November 20, 2013 at 4:08 am

    you might want to use a thermometer to see if your slow cooker works at the average temp. Mine is a combo slow cooker/fryer so I have to go by the temperature. 200 degrees is considered Low and 300 degrees is considered high.

  • 22. Scottie Gage  |  December 11, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    Haha! “Warm is not a cooking setting” is pure genius. Thanks for the post. I’ll try this recipe out!

  • 23. Tracy Nelson  |  December 25, 2013 at 12:01 am

    Christmas Eve 2013 and it is in the crock pot now waiting for tomorrow morning! I used the cin. raisin bread…… wish me luck!

  • 24. Sarah  |  December 25, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    Yeah, idk what kind of amazing crock pot you have, but mine was done in a couple of hours. I put on at 11pm with the hopes of it being finished for Christmas breakfast! But i saw the comments saying theirs burnt so I stayed up watching it to be sure. By 1am the edges touching sides of pot were turning dark and I realized if I didn’t shut off now it would be burnt to a crisp by morning! I turned to warm and went to bed. In the morning it was still warm and done and ready! I might make again, though I think next time I’ll play around with more spices, it wasn’t as flavorful as I like, but that’s just me. :)

  • 25. Lynn  |  December 30, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    Sorry to say, I made the French toast for Christmas morning. Started out cooking at 1:30 am. We woke up at 7am to a crock pit of burned French toast beyond repair. Too bad I see all my eggs on this recipe. No breakfast for us :-(.

  • 26. Kat  |  January 5, 2014 at 2:16 am

    The issue with burning may have nothing to do with the recipe, but with the slow cooker instead. I’ve been “burned” before with recipes getting to dry. I tried adding more liquids, and doubling recipes, but it didn’t work. It turns out that my Crock Pot slow cooker didn’t seal properly. There was a metal band around the edge of the lid, but it allowed steam to escape & didn’t let moisture build up. I got a Hamilton Beach slow cooker with a lid that has a gasket around the edge & all my problems were solved.

  • 27. RobynO  |  January 11, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    I have made this several times and my grown boys just love it as do we!! I have used french bread and used enough to fill a standard crock pot to almost full and it has always turned out delisicous.
    Tomorrow I am trying it with a cinnamon chip bread…wish me luck!!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Foodie Fun

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 458 other followers

Whats in the Oven

Birthdays Breads and Pastry Brunch ButterCream Cake Candy Cheesecake Chocolate Cookies Cupcakes Custards and Pudding Extracts and Spices Filling Fondant Frosting Fruits and Tarts Gumpaste Holiday Gifts Holidays How To Videos Pie Puppies Royal Icing Snacks Some like it Hot: Movie/ Book Reviews Specialty/ Weddings Spirits Tea Uncategorized Vegan

Follow Me

Archives

Comments

Ella on Marriage for All
Rachel on Marriage for All
renee on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Jo Skidmore on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
RobynO on BRUNCH: Crock Pot French Toast…

Blogroll

Blog Stats

Twitter

The Cake Eccentric

Sugar, Frosting, and Fondant: an artistic exploration of Cake and other Sweets

Portfolio

PICT0397

PICT0396

PICT0091

PICT0089

PICT0088

More Photos
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 458 other followers

