Every freaking time…

October 28, 2009 Ella

league_of_their_own

You know that scene.  The part in A League of Their Own.  When they post all the team lists at the end of tryouts.  And all the girls go running to the bulletin boards and then jump away one by one excited they’ve just made it.  Then the coach starts to talk welcoming everyone to the league…until everyone uncomfortably notices there’s still a girl staring alone at the board.  The coach is stern and says

“If you don’t see your name, you’ll have to go home. I’m sorry!”  

Just then another girls gets up and goes to the poor forelorn girl at the bulletin board and calmly says “Can you read?”

The first girl shakes her head no.

“What’s your name?”

Stuttering “Ss Sh Shirley Baker.”

Then they happily find Shirley Baker listed as a Rockford Peach.  

:Sigh:  I cry every Freakin’ time.   I see that scene.  Its over.  My frostings melted.

DSCN0415

Me and some of my closest gals at Yankee stadium in August.

The World Series is here and I’m a Bronx resident so I figured a baseball themed recipe would be good.  Lets hope the next few games are not tear-filled for us New Yorkers.  Its rainy today in the Bronx but hopefully the game will go on.  After all CC Sabathia is pitching.  If I had to pick a favorite yankee, well it’d probably be him.  He’s a giant! 

DSCN0417

“Buy me some peanuts and cracker jacks…” Carmel Corn it is then.

I’ve been searching all over the internet for different recipes and they are all about the same.  Your main ingredients are Popcorn (of course) brown sugar, butter, corn syrup,  vanilla, salt.  Easy enough right?  Now Cracker jacks have peanuts in them and anyone whose come to New York and hasn’t stopped to get a bag of roasted peanuts on the street is missing out!!  But I didn’t have peanuts in the house so I did the next best thing.  Peanut Butter.  I’ll refrain from vulagrity on this site, but WOW this popcorn is $#@*&$ GOOD!!!!!

DSCN0771

Preheat your oven to 250 degrees.

Ingredients:

4-5 quarts of Popcorn.  I made mine fresh on the stove…I don’t own a microwave, but plain popcorn, air popped, or in the microwave works.  Refrain from using that movie theatre butter kind of popcorn you’ll be adding enough real butter soon enough.

DSCN0768

2 stick of butter (1 cup)

2 c light brown sugar

1/2 c light corn syrup

DSCN0770

Melt these in a sauce pan, bring them to a boil.  Stir frequently.  Add:

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt ( I added 2 because I was using unsalted butter)

DSCN0772

I added 1/3 peanut butter.  One of the recipes I referenced at allrecipes.com said to boil this mixture for 4 minutes without stirring.  I was worried about burning so I couldn’t help myself but to mix.  Pour mixture over popcorn.  I burnt some of my kernels…I removed the good stuff, then tried to get some of those dud kernels to pop, but then my cat got her paw caught under the fridge.  How?? I totally had a freak out and left the kernels burning on the stove while I searched in vain for a flashlight.  The kernels burnt and my cat came walking out of the kitchen a few minutes later having freed herself.  She’s a bit of a princess sometimes…

DSCN0775

Needless to say I had more carmel than I need, but I’m going to attenpt to reuse the carmel peanut butter on candied apples later this week.  Mmmm. I love this time of the year!!

After you mix thoroughly you need to bake your corn.  Bake in a casserole dish and stir the mixture every 15 minutes or so for 50-60 minutes.  Then flip you dish over on to a sheet of parchment.   So that you can actually break the pieces apart.  You could just skip the casserole dish and bake on a parchment lined baking pan. If you want to use this recipe for some DIY holiday gifts, get colored cellophane bags and place baseball (ha! pun intended) size balls of carmel corn inside. Tie with a bow!

Or pull this straight out of the oven tonight and tune in to Game One.  Heres to CC and the Bronx Bombers tonight!

Entry Filed under: Holiday Gifts,Snacks

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mrs. G.  |  October 28, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Let’s go Yankees – but then Poppy was a Phillies fan – and then you have the Rangers versus The Islanders tonight. What’s a New Yorker to do? ?? Either way – the recipe sounds great!!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Foodie Fun

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 541 other followers

Whats in the Oven

Birthdays Breads and Pastry Brunch ButterCream Cake Candy Cheesecake Chocolate Cookies Cupcakes Custards and Pudding Extracts and Spices Filling Fondant Frosting Fruits and Tarts Gumpaste Holiday Gifts Holidays How To Videos Pie Puppies Royal Icing Snacks Some like it Hot: Movie/ Book Reviews Specialty/ Weddings Spirits Tea Uncategorized Vegan

Follow Me

Archives

Comments

Deborah Dilbeck on BRUNCH: Crock Pot French Toast…
25 Easy Breakfast Ha… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Community Post: 40 C… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
40 Creative Food Hac… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Bob on Brunch: Crock Pot French …

Blogroll

Blog Stats

Twitter

The Cake Eccentric

Sugar, Frosting, and Fondant: an artistic exploration of Cake and other Sweets

Portfolio

 
