Dessert Wine

February 26, 2010 Ella
Tags: , , , , , ,

Not to long ago I was in my local wine seller (haha pun intended) and a particular bottle caught my eye.  When comes to spirits I have a proclivity for red wine.  I’d like to believe my palate is well versed in tasting all the notes in a good glass of wine, but the truth is I’m just no sommolier.  When it comes to choosing wine I have some favorites,  but I’m more apt, like anyone, to judge a book by its cover and buy a bottle with a pretty label or funny name. So when I saw this bottle with a big ole slice of cake on the front I was intrigued and completely skeptical.

Surprise surprise Layer Cake is actually a really nice bottle to try.  Here I thought they were trying to sucker this cake enthusiast by using a clever name for their vino.  The name Layer Cake comes from the family’s philosophy on wine making.  “…wine if  properly made was like a great layer cake, fruit, mocha, chocolate, with hints of spice and rich–always rich.” (www.layercakewine.com)

What a great philosophy on wine…and cake for that matter.  I could cozy up with a glass of layer cake just about any day of the week.  I recommend the Primitivo, though all the different kinds are delicious.  I’ve also started incorporating this wine into my baking.  As we speak I’m soaking fruit for a black cake (recipe to come soon), and I thought it only fitting to soak my fruit in Layer Cake.

Entry Filed under: Cake,Chocolate,Extracts and Spices,Spirits

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Foodie Fun

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 540 other followers

Whats in the Oven

Birthdays Breads and Pastry Brunch ButterCream Cake Candy Cheesecake Chocolate Cookies Cupcakes Custards and Pudding Extracts and Spices Filling Fondant Frosting Fruits and Tarts Gumpaste Holiday Gifts Holidays How To Videos Pie Puppies Royal Icing Snacks Some like it Hot: Movie/ Book Reviews Specialty/ Weddings Spirits Tea Uncategorized Vegan

Follow Me

Archives

Comments

Deborah Dilbeck on BRUNCH: Crock Pot French Toast…
25 Easy Breakfast Ha… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Community Post: 40 C… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
40 Creative Food Hac… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Bob on Brunch: Crock Pot French …

Blogroll

Blog Stats

Twitter

The Cake Eccentric

Sugar, Frosting, and Fondant: an artistic exploration of Cake and other Sweets

Portfolio

 
