Dulce De Leche Cake

November 16, 2010 Ella
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I came across this blog as I was researching a recipe for Dulce De Leche Cake.  Spork or Foon.com A great blog with all sort of entrees and desserts, breakfast and appetizers.  As I was cruising around the site I realize that me and this other fine foodie have a few things in common– both dog owners, we both studied theatre in College, and we both live in NYC and know all too intimately the trials and tribulations of living (and cooking) in the city that never sleeps.

The Empire State Building, from a Manhattan Roof Top

I sometimes wonder how many New York City foodie bloggers there are out there on the internet dealing with their tiny cramped kitchens as they document all their food loving experiements.  New York is a wonderful and tough place to live.  This all of course got me thinking about what my experience has been like living and coping, and coping with living in New York.  I still think after 6 years (where did time go?) that I’m not an expert enough to write any sort of  comprhensive guide to NYC but I have some of my insights.  I probably wouldn’t have made it through that first summer sublet if it weren’t for my first roommate and a copy of NFT Not for Tourist and An Actor Prepare’s… to Live in New York City I might still be upstate.

1. If you want a decent sized apartment for you dollar– go to the North Bronx.  I’ve got a gigantic (especially by NYC standards) apartment.  2 bedroom and the price aint terrible.  Amenities: public transport to NYC and Westchester, the Bronx River, which has tons of bike paths and is quite beautiful, subways  and the metro north can get you to midtown in 30 minutes at peak hours.  Of course when your living in the North Bronx you might as well live in Albany in terms of feeling like the city.   Riverdale, Norwood and City Island are all great spots, but you can also find some good deals in Brooklyn and Queens, with a similar commute and more of a view.

2.Parking and Street Cleaning.  If you have car in the city make sure its a compact car else you will lose precious hours of your life to seaching for parking.  You’ll also need to get a grip in the street cleaning dates and times.  Most neighborhoods you are permitted to double park for the hour, hour and a half of street cleaning, but DON”T Oversleep or forget to move you car back else you will find a ticket whihc cost about the same as a surf and turf dinner.   Should you get a ticket, pay it as soon as possible else (and i know from experience) they will find you and tow away your ride.  Call 311 if you have questions about street fairs, street cleaning, subway closures.  They don’t always have an answer but ca at least point you in the right direction.

3. Make a point to do the Touristy New York City things, preferably when you first get here.  Statue of Liberty, at least one broadway play, The Met –museum or Opera, Yankee Stadium, and dare I say Magnolia.  After you’ve done the “Sex and the City” bus tour, and are feed up with hanging out in Midtown, Make your own adventure to find what will soon become your Big Apple Favorites.  I once played what I called “whatever bus comes next.”  After spending some time at the Cloisters I decided to take “what ever bus comes next.”   I was in Inwood (northern most Neighborhood in Manhattan) and decided I would use my metro card fun pass (unlimited subway/bus pass) and let the City take me where it would.  I decided I wouldn’t request a stop but rather decided to get off randomly, when someone else requested it.  I ended up walking the last leg of the New York City Marathon– Spectators route on the runners all day long from their windows, even stop to clap on the streets– what amazing support.  Then I purused through the Conservatory at Central Park, before meeting up with some friends for Indian food at a great restaurant on 108th– The Indian Cafe.  Other times I’ve snuck into the Natural History Museum, or climbed up the Shakespeare castel in Central Park, or randomly run into in Robert DeNiro in Little Italy.  The best times I’ve had were typically unplanned so, get a fun pass and go get lost.

My best friends on a downtown Manhattan rooftop

4. New York City like anything in life is all about who you know.  So make friends.  I’ve been to Broadway premiers and Penthouse rooftops all from having made friends with some really cool people. It can be hard to break through that tough New York exterior that just about everyone has, but your sure to find good connections that will lead you to your next job or opportunity or at least a good party.

5. Keep your head up, because New York will kick your butt!!!  Whether you’ve got crazy weird roomates (I had one who stole my security deposit, and then turn around and try to sue me later–seriously!) shady cheap landlord who turns off your heat to save himself money, or totally unfair parking tickets– this is all part of the rhythym of the city.  If you really want to be here you’ll find a way to cope with the lack of space, abundance of noise and learn to love it, and if not you’ll have some good stories to bring back home withyou.

So how about that cake.  I made this for a coworker who originates from Ecuador.  As far as neighborhoods go I live in a predominantly spanish area and I love comparing recipes and learning new aways to approach cake, or Bizcocho.

The cake is a version of a white cake, without as many eggs.  It cooks up light and fluffy and evenly for the most part.  You’ll notice you won’t spend alot of time leveling this puppy.

The filling is dulce de Leche, cooked the easiest way– by boiling sweetencondensed milk (see my previous post)

And the Frosting.  I originally went with what SporkorFoon suggested: a caramel frosting from Paula Dean, but I found generally that it was too sweet and pretty runny, so I oppted to take all that gooey caramel and add it (slowly) to some Swiss Merignue I had already made.  It  kicked up the flavor just enough without killing the consistency.  I drizzled what was left of the caramel over the cake, and add some melted chocolate in a way Jackson Pollock would appreciate– I was inspired by this photo of Dulce De Leche cake on Technicolor Kitchen.  I love food photos!


Dulce De Cake from Spork or Foon.com

2 1/4 cup cake flour ( I used all purpose)

1 c whole milk

6 large egg whites at room temperature

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 3/4 c grandulate sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

12 tbsp (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter softened

Combine milk, egg whites and vanilla in a small bowl.  mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a stand mixer on low speed.  Add butter and mix until crumbly.  Add 1/2 of egg-milk mixture into flour mixture. Mix at medium speed for 90 seconds.  Add last of egg-milk mixture and beat for 30 seconds.  Scrape bowl and mix for 20 more seconds.  Don’t over beat.

Pour into 2 greased and floured 8″ or 9″ pans and cook for 25 minutes.

Paula Dean’s caramel frosting can be found here or

Melt 1 stick of butter, 1 c brown sugar (dark is called for but I only had light– to each their own), and 1/3 heavy cream in a saucepan until the sugar is dissolved.  Move to a heat proof bowl add 1 lb (2 cups) powdered sugar.  Add more sugar for a stiffer consistency.  I allowed the frosting to cool then slowly stirred it into some fluffy swiss meringue I had made previously.

Cool for 10 minutes, remove from pans and allow to cool completely.  Level you cakes. Be sure to pipe a dam around the edge so you dulce won’t leak threw. Fill with Dulce de Leche, stack and Frost. Decorate as you’d like!


Entry Filed under: ButterCream,Cake,Filling,Frosting

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Foodie Fun

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 541 other followers

Whats in the Oven

Birthdays Breads and Pastry Brunch ButterCream Cake Candy Cheesecake Chocolate Cookies Cupcakes Custards and Pudding Extracts and Spices Filling Fondant Frosting Fruits and Tarts Gumpaste Holiday Gifts Holidays How To Videos Pie Puppies Royal Icing Snacks Some like it Hot: Movie/ Book Reviews Specialty/ Weddings Spirits Tea Uncategorized Vegan

Follow Me

Archives

Comments

Deborah Dilbeck on BRUNCH: Crock Pot French Toast…
25 Easy Breakfast Ha… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Community Post: 40 C… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
40 Creative Food Hac… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Bob on Brunch: Crock Pot French …

Blogroll

Blog Stats

Twitter

The Cake Eccentric

Sugar, Frosting, and Fondant: an artistic exploration of Cake and other Sweets

Portfolio

More Photos
 
