Martha’ Mascarpone Semifreddo

December 6, 2010 Ella
Tags: , , , , , ,

It is officially the Holiday Season.  First off, my copy of Betty Crocker’s Cooky Book has arrived.  My grandmother gave me her copy when I was 12. I cherished it and used it pretty regualrly as a kid especially when it came to bake sales.  After searching my parents house recently I realized that somewhere between college and now (and all the apartments in between) my copy is in someone else’s hands.  Let’s hope they realize what a treasure it is.  This book has some of the best cookies around and its absolutley clutch during Holiday Season, so starting this week its cooky time! 

But today I’m trying a recipe in Martha Stewart’s Magazine, Holiday Edition.  Its a version of ice cream called Semifreddo.  I played around with the idea of “SemiFreddo”, convincing myself having studied only Spanish and French in High school– that Freddo meant frozen, but Alfredo sauce indicates cheese, so I’m pretty sure this recipe’s title muses the use of Mascarpone Cheese.

Mascarpone is a word I love to say pretending I know how to actually pronounce anything in Italian other than Spaghetti.  If I was a ganster my nick name would include the word Mascarpone.  Which brings me to this lovely dessert which I will be eating tonight as I watch the last episode of Boardwalk Empire– chuck full of gansters.

Cherry Port Sauce:

1 c port wine

3/4 c sugar

3/4 dried cherries

Simmer Port and Sugar until it reduces by half.  Add cherries. They will plump.  Simmer another 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and let stand 10 minutes.  You can store in the fridge– it will continue to thicken, or I recommend leaving it out and allowing it to be slightly warm and a little more syrupy.

Combine:

1 c + 1 Tbsp of Mascarpone Cheese

1 c heavy cream

1Tbsp confectioner’s Sugar

Pinch of coarse Salt

Beat until stiff peaks form.  Careful not to over beat as texture can become crumbly.

Fold in 1 oz bittersweet (or semi sweet) chocolate chopped coarsely. Place in pyrex bread pan and cover with plastic wrap.  Place in freezer 30 minutes – 1 hour.  Edges will be frozen.  Scoop and serve with sauce.

You can usually make substitutions should you not be able to find mascarpone cheese.  Cream Cheese and Sour cream combined can stand in for the authentic.  If this is the case, I will venture to say your peak will not stiffen the same way as with authentic Marscarpone, considering cream cheese is slightly softer.

Entry Filed under: Custards and Pudding,Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Foodie Fun

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 540 other followers

Whats in the Oven

Birthdays Breads and Pastry Brunch ButterCream Cake Candy Cheesecake Chocolate Cookies Cupcakes Custards and Pudding Extracts and Spices Filling Fondant Frosting Fruits and Tarts Gumpaste Holiday Gifts Holidays How To Videos Pie Puppies Royal Icing Snacks Some like it Hot: Movie/ Book Reviews Specialty/ Weddings Spirits Tea Uncategorized Vegan

Follow Me

Archives

Comments

Deborah Dilbeck on BRUNCH: Crock Pot French Toast…
25 Easy Breakfast Ha… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Community Post: 40 C… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
40 Creative Food Hac… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Bob on Brunch: Crock Pot French …

Blogroll

Blog Stats

Twitter

The Cake Eccentric

Sugar, Frosting, and Fondant: an artistic exploration of Cake and other Sweets

Portfolio

 
