Sunday Brunch: Les Crepes or Serendipity 3, Part 1

January 17, 2011 Ella
Tags: , ,

Last weekend my boyfriend and I celebrated our one year anniversary.  If you’ll allow me to gush a bit let me say aside from being a huge supporter of my eccentric endeavors he also plays a role in some of my work.  I’ve put him to work cutting out pieces of fondant or gum paste and he regularly will stay up late late at night helping me finish a cake.  Thats him in the pictures from Scott’s Wedding, helping me assemble the cake.  By trade he is a talented graphic designer and actually designed this website– thats how we met.

He loves good food, especially dessert, like me so when we first started dating we hit up  all sorts of good restaurants in the Bronx’s Little Italy and all over New York testing out stuff, coming up with ideas and brainstorming.

Last weekend after a delicious Indian dinner, I was craving dessert big time.  Unfortunately I’m not a big fan of Indian desserts so I suggested we go to Magnolia, though I’ve heard less than great things about their cupcakes. Its one of those New York things you should say you’ve done. I do have respect for Magnolia considering they are very much responsible for the trend in cupcakes these days.  We opted quickly from finding the original Magnolia store downtown when I had the bright idea that we go to Serendipity 3.

Serendipity 3 is a restaurant known for large servings, a long line, and extravagent desserts, especially the Frozen Hot Chocolate.   I’ve got a version of it to come later, but for now I’m focusing on Crepes.

Phil, ordered the Ice Cream Crepe– which I indulged in of course.  He is a huge fan of crepes.  There is a restaurant in his home town called Ravenous that serves nothing but crepes, both savory and sweet. So its safe to say he grew up on them.  What Serendipity serves is a huge crepe with bananas, strawberries, and raspberry syrup.  Topped with 3 huge scoops of ice cream. It could be dessert or breakfast and simpy talking about it now makes me so hungry my mouth is watering. I can safely say it was one of the first desserts I can remember eating when I wasn’t jonesing for more ice cream.  You know when you order dessert and the ice cream has melted by the time you get your dish or the serving was to stingy to begin with.  This dessert was so good it got me off the hook for making him wait in the long New York City tourist line in the cold.

So here is a great crepe recipe from Good Eats.  Serve it for breakfast, or dessert and fill with just about anything sweet.

Crepes from Alton Brown’s Good Eats:

2 1/2 tsp sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

3/4 c milk

1/2 c water

1 c flour

3 tsp melted butter

Blend all ingredients for 7-10 seconds only! Store in fridge for at least an hour.  Will store for up to 3 days.

Seriously only 7-10 seconds, otherwise you will have pancakes, not crepes. Heat and butter pan.  Pour in crepe batter– the first one always sucks, kind of like pancakes.  Swirl batter around the pan until it looks dry at the edges.

Fill with fruit, chocolate, nutella or any combination.  I opted for strawberries and mangos.  Fresh frozen fruit is great when your favorite fruits are out of season.  Just throw in to a hot pan to flash thaw.  Set aside while making the crepe.

Fold over.  A few golden brown spot are good, but don’t over cook.

Add whipped cream or ice cream if you dare. I’ll be adding a really easy homemade ice cream recipe tomorrow– featured above! This crepe is delicious with just fruit, or if you opted to go simple add only butter and a spattering of powdered sugar. I drizzled mine with blueberry infused agave nectar.  I could eat my weight in crepes like this. Truly Serendipitious…if thats even a word.

Entry Filed under: Brunch

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chocolate 365 Blog&hellip  |  January 17, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Scott S Cakes Vanilla And Chocolate…

    […] Eats.  Serve it for breakfast, or dessert and fill with just about anything swe […]…

  • 2. Chrissy (The New Me)  |  January 17, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    You’ve already been dating a whole year?! Congratulations and happy anniversary! ❤

  • 3. Mr. and Mrs. G  |  January 17, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    Gush away!!! Congrats you two!!

  • 4. sheri  |  January 24, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    I made these crepes over the weekend and filled them with fresh bananas and Nutella! yummmm! 🙂 Thanks for posting the recipe.

    • 5. Ella  |  January 25, 2011 at 6:32 am

      Awesome!!! Glad you enjoyed!!!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Foodie Fun

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 541 other followers

Whats in the Oven

Birthdays Breads and Pastry Brunch ButterCream Cake Candy Cheesecake Chocolate Cookies Cupcakes Custards and Pudding Extracts and Spices Filling Fondant Frosting Fruits and Tarts Gumpaste Holiday Gifts Holidays How To Videos Pie Puppies Royal Icing Snacks Some like it Hot: Movie/ Book Reviews Specialty/ Weddings Spirits Tea Uncategorized Vegan

Follow Me

Archives

Comments

Deborah Dilbeck on BRUNCH: Crock Pot French Toast…
25 Easy Breakfast Ha… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Community Post: 40 C… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
40 Creative Food Hac… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Bob on Brunch: Crock Pot French …

Blogroll

Blog Stats

Twitter

The Cake Eccentric

Sugar, Frosting, and Fondant: an artistic exploration of Cake and other Sweets

Portfolio

 
