Serendipity 3, Part 2 Homemade Ice Cream

January 19, 2011 Ella
Tags: , ,

So I’ve been looking around for Homemade ice cream recipes. One of my fondess foodie memories was when I was 10 years old.  I was at a girl scout camping sleep over and we made our own homemade vanilla ice cream.  I think I can safely say this was before the days of readily available home ice cream makers.

We poured a concoction of cream and sugar into small coffee cans. Carefully sealed the lid shut.  Put the small can into a large coffee canister (one of our leaders must have drank coffee by the gallon considering there were 12 pairs of us.) Added ice and rock salt.  Then each pair of girls rolled a can between each other on the floor.  20 minutes later each of us had made our very own vanilla ice cream (or chocolate if we chose to add the syrup.)

I got this fun little cooking timer at the gift shop at Serendipity 3. Fitting for this post no?

 

To add to the recipes inspired by my and my boyfriend’s adventures at Serendipity 3 I found myself craving ice cream and feeling a little nostalgic for my girl scouting DIY days.  Sans ice cream maker and large coffee canisters I searched around the internet and found some interesting recipes.

Here are a few factoids I wasn’t aware of: Most ice cream recipes call for egg or egg yolks.  Many times its cooked into a custard before freezing. This is a custard recipe or a “french custard” recipe, hence the term “French Vanilla.” “Philadelphia” style recipes call for cream and sugar, no eggs and are not cooked.  I’ve only seen it in upstate New York, but if you are an upstater like me you are familiar with Stewart’s Shop’s brand of “Philadelphia Vanilla.”

I was looking for the easiest possible recipe, no cooking, no ice cream maker. I searched around and put together the following. You will need:

3 c heavy cream

1 c milk (I used 2%)

1 can sweetened condensed milk

2 tsp vanilla extract

Combine ingredients in a shallow dish like a pyrex pan.  I used a bread pan since room in my freezer was limited.  Freeze for an hour then stir– you’ll find the edges frozen but the center still runny.  Continue to stir every 30 minutes until you have the consistency you’d like– soft or some people like their ice cream more firm.  Cover with plastic wrap until ready to serve. I found that after stirring once or twice it was a lot like soft serve.   If you want to try and keep it from getting icy– the milk has a higher water content- throw the ice cream in you stand mixer, then back into the freezer.

Make sure to cover with plastic wrap, and seal in a tight container to keep from getting freezer burnt.

Entry Filed under: Custards and Pudding,Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Foodie Fun

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 540 other followers

Whats in the Oven

Birthdays Breads and Pastry Brunch ButterCream Cake Candy Cheesecake Chocolate Cookies Cupcakes Custards and Pudding Extracts and Spices Filling Fondant Frosting Fruits and Tarts Gumpaste Holiday Gifts Holidays How To Videos Pie Puppies Royal Icing Snacks Some like it Hot: Movie/ Book Reviews Specialty/ Weddings Spirits Tea Uncategorized Vegan

Follow Me

Archives

Comments

Deborah Dilbeck on BRUNCH: Crock Pot French Toast…
25 Easy Breakfast Ha… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Community Post: 40 C… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
40 Creative Food Hac… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Bob on Brunch: Crock Pot French …

Blogroll

Blog Stats

Twitter

The Cake Eccentric

Sugar, Frosting, and Fondant: an artistic exploration of Cake and other Sweets

Portfolio

 
