Fluffy Frosting

March 9, 2011 Ella
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Not too long ago my boyfriend’s neice Trinity celebrated her 4th birthday.  This family takes cake very seriously which is why I love them sooo much.  For the small family party Trintiy’s mom and grandma spent a long night making a Tangled themed rapunzel castle cake.  A very impressive endeavour, considering all the wacky cake wrecks I made before taking a hobby class on decorating– and Trinity’s Mom and Grandma have never taken a class!

Cupcakes were the project for later that night as a birthday party with friends was set for Sunday, and the Tangled cake was all but devoured by family.  Ann  clued me in to a family recipe for fluffy frosting which she planned to decorate cupcakes with.  To my shock it actually contains flour.  Weird right! And by the way contains no marshmellow fluff.

Its pretty easy to make especially verses my (favorite) but labor intensive swiss merignue butter cream, but to be honest this won’t be replacing buttercream for me, definelty worth a try.

Fluffy Frosting

1 c milk

1/3 c flour

1 c sugar

1 cup shortening –yeah I know I hate shortening!! So opt for 1/2 c shortening, 1/2 c butter

1 tsp vanilla

In a small sauce pan combine flour and milk, and heat on low.  Make sure to stir constantly otherwise you will have what looks like mashed potatoes. 

The milk and flour will become thick and creamy. Remove from heat and allow to cool. 

Meahwhile cream sugar and butter/ shortening together.  Once your flour mixture has cooled down add it to the your sugar and butter and beat on medium/ high.

A word to the wise, this frosting doesn’t harden or dry, its always kind of gooey. But its good and not too sweet.  In fact I’m currently writing from a computer in a class I’m taking on social networking.  It seems I’m a little ahead of the curve already having an established blog, but I’ve got a thing or two to learn about all the  crazy ways to utilize the many social networks.

So tonight I wrote this post  from class and debuted this frosting on cupcakes I’ve made for class…

 

You can see how mushy the frosting is as my cupcake toppers slide off! But…its good!!

Entry Filed under: Cupcakes,Frosting

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chrissy (The New Me)  |  March 10, 2011 at 9:27 am

    I LOVE your social media cupcakes! I may use that photo in a PowerPoint presentation I’m giving next week about social media to a group of local business owners. Would you mind?

    • 2. Ella  |  March 10, 2011 at 2:39 pm

      Not at ALL!! I can send you some real pics. They didn’t come out as good as I wanted — I had to rush through making them and cutting out fondant as type face always kinda sucks. Is you presentation power point? or perhaps being recorded? I’d love to watch it. The class I took was only 2 sessions long, and very basic (most students didn’t really know about blogging)– no judgement on my part since I’m still new to the blogosphere, but there is so much to cover, as my teacher pointed ou–t I’m eager to continue to learn a little more about the subject matter!!! You should record and YOU TUBE!!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Foodie Fun

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 541 other followers

Whats in the Oven

Birthdays Breads and Pastry Brunch ButterCream Cake Candy Cheesecake Chocolate Cookies Cupcakes Custards and Pudding Extracts and Spices Filling Fondant Frosting Fruits and Tarts Gumpaste Holiday Gifts Holidays How To Videos Pie Puppies Royal Icing Snacks Some like it Hot: Movie/ Book Reviews Specialty/ Weddings Spirits Tea Uncategorized Vegan

Follow Me

Archives

Comments

Deborah Dilbeck on BRUNCH: Crock Pot French Toast…
25 Easy Breakfast Ha… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Community Post: 40 C… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
40 Creative Food Hac… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Bob on Brunch: Crock Pot French …

Blogroll

Blog Stats

Twitter

The Cake Eccentric

Sugar, Frosting, and Fondant: an artistic exploration of Cake and other Sweets

Portfolio

 
