BRUNCH: Banana Pecan Belgian Waffles

March 22, 2011 Ella
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m breaking my tradition of posting brunch inspired recipes on Saturday nights because I finished out my last day of the weekend this Monday with a day off from work.  I spent Saturday managing the many patrons attending a long week of performances of the Martha Graham Dance Company.

Lets talk about Martha for a minute, because I for one, having seen bits and pieces of her repertoire many times over the years I’ve been working in theatre, strangely knew little about her.  I knew only that she basically invented modern dance– which as a kid who studied tap dancing for (cough) fourteen years thought modern dance was just ballet without shoes.

Martha Graham is often mentioned with other great artist like Picasso– because they both invented and redefined their art– turning traditional form on its head.  She invented her own technique which is widely studied today and only at the tender age of 75 did she reluctantly retire from performing.  Her choreography can be severe, stressed, and emotional, and always includes eccentric costuming and makeup. Calvin Klein, Vera Wang, and Oscar De LaRenta designed many costumes for this week’s performances (see above).

Martha Graham has little to do with waffles, in fact I’m sure when you are a professional dancer you steer clear of waffles, carbs, and this blog in general. I did feel a little inspired with my plating and adding a carmel head dress as it were.

So here is a great addition to your brunch menu. Banana Pecan Waffles…ohhhhh I sigh just thinking about them. I actually had one this morning, though I made this recipe about a week ago…These waffles freeze well too.  So if you are serving breakfast for a small crowd or just treating your self this Sunday or Tuesday morning, don’t worry about all that extra batter going bad in your fridge throughout the week.  I’ve managed to comendere my boyfriends waffle iron for the last couple weeks, so when I had a minute I pressed the remaining batter into waffles and threw in a gallon size freeze bag, and have been indulging, with the help of my toaster ever since.  ALSO, thoses chocolate stout waffles, from my last brunch post freeze even better!

Banana Pecan Waffles from GroupRecipes.com

Ingredients:

2 c Flour

1 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp sugar

3 eggs

2 c buttermilk (2 c milk with 2 tsp vinegar)

1/3 c sour cream

1/4 c canola oil

3/4 c ripe mashed Bananas

1/2 -3/4 c chopped pecans

Combine dry ingredients (flour, powder, soda, salt, and sugar) and set aside.

Mash bananas.

Beat eggs, sour cream, buttermilk and oil.

Combine wet and dry ingredients.

Fold in Bananas and Pecans, careful not to over stir.

 

Pour about 1/3c batter on to iron.  Cook for 3-5 minutes. Follow the directions on your waffle iron.

Fresh bananas, whipped cream, and some caramel I had hanging around my fridge made for a fabulous finish. (my carmel topper wilted shortly after this picture…) maple syrup or agave nectar work just as well.

Entry Filed under: Brunch,Fruits and Tarts,Snacks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Foodie Fun

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 541 other followers

Whats in the Oven

Birthdays Breads and Pastry Brunch ButterCream Cake Candy Cheesecake Chocolate Cookies Cupcakes Custards and Pudding Extracts and Spices Filling Fondant Frosting Fruits and Tarts Gumpaste Holiday Gifts Holidays How To Videos Pie Puppies Royal Icing Snacks Some like it Hot: Movie/ Book Reviews Specialty/ Weddings Spirits Tea Uncategorized Vegan

Follow Me

Archives

Comments

Deborah Dilbeck on BRUNCH: Crock Pot French Toast…
25 Easy Breakfast Ha… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Community Post: 40 C… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
40 Creative Food Hac… on Brunch: Crock Pot French …
Bob on Brunch: Crock Pot French …

Blogroll

Blog Stats

Twitter

The Cake Eccentric

Sugar, Frosting, and Fondant: an artistic exploration of Cake and other Sweets

Portfolio

 
